My (former) life as the crab

Musings about life after Crabby Office Lady

Day….6 June 18, 2012

Filed under: Annik — Annik @ 4:01 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Got my unemployment info after filling out all the forms. You can do it all online which is great. I had visions of standing in line with 23-year-old mothers and their 3 snotty-nosed chil’run , all snacking on Cheetos and Big Gulps. (Opps…is my “ism” of some sort showing….?)

Just last month either the federal or state government cut down on how many weeks you could file. It appears that I can file for 26 weeks. Ha;l a year. That’s not bad. Of course I can’t LIVE on $2k a month but I think that’s the most they offer you. There’s some sort of cut-off on how much they’ll pay you and I think I hit the limit, which is sort of sad if you get laid off and you were being paid 300K a year.  So t does that mean that, if, say, if Mitt Romney lost his job (does he even have a job?) and found himself  unemployed, he cold only get $500 a week. Gosh, I find that sort of comforting…

Did I mention that futons are filled with hatred? (C’mon Clay–get here with the new upstairs air conditioner before I have to do one more night on a futon in a twin bed…)

Leaving for Meheeco next Saturday for a week with the entire family. And I do mean the brother, the sister, the 3 nephews, the 3 nieces, the two parents, the two in-laws, and my one darling daughter (without whom I sure as hell would not go). I frankly thought it was NOT a good idea for my parents to spring for a Club Med trip for all of us, in order to celebrate their 50th anniversary. And I told them so and we ALL told them so and at firsts we thought we’d SWAYED them…but apparently not. I mean, what about a nice party? But no, they insisted and while yes, I’m looking forward to it, I’m also very much afraid–and I don’t mean of the drinking water. Recently three times (first two times were from  two close, younger, relatives–over 21–and one time a good friend commented that a certain family member is very snappish to me and just shuts me down when I offer an opinion. Again, I feel vindicated that it’s not just ME who’s over-reacting but that it IS happening. I think it has something to do with competitive parenting. It’s really weird and I’m trying to let it roll off my back but I have a back made of velcro (or so it seems). Lots of yoga, Annik; lots of yoga. One of my instructors says “take all that stress and resistance and brush it to the sides of your mat…” yeah, the sides of my mat. Yeah, brush it. More like get a wind machine and fill up a crater.

I did create a t-shirt for all 14 of us to wear on the plane–it was taken in 1961 in Austria, one of the many countries my folks visited on their honeymoon. The man in the middle is, who else? Neptune! My mom used to say that he was her grandfather and we believed her for the longest time. And wouldn’t you know it, the CLub Med logo is a trident…

Front of the 50th anniversary t-shirt

Front of the 50th anniversary t-shirt

Back of the 50th anniversary t-shirt

Back of the 50th anniversary t-shirt

 

Leave a Reply

